The Deaneries of the Catholic Diocese of Salt Lake City

The Catholic Diocese of Salt Lake City has 5 deaneries. Under Canon Law, the bishop has the ability to group parishes into regional areas within a diocese, according to their geographic location. These regions are called deaneries. Deans are priests who act as the overseer of a deanery appointed to them by the bishop.  Deaneries are named simply by a geographic designation and we have the following deaneries: Eastern, Northern, Salt Lake, Southwest and Wasatch. For a PDF of the list, please click here.

Our five deaneries are listed below along with their respective parishes, missions and stations.


Dean: Very Reverend Albert Kileo, ALCP
             Saint Anthony of Padua Catholic Church
             5 South Main
             Helper, UT 84526
             Phone: (435) 722-2975

• Good Shepherd, East Carbon
• Notre Dame de Lourdes, Price
• Saint Anthony of Padua, Helper
• Saint Helen, Roosevelt
• Saint James the Greater, Vernal
• Saint Joseph, Monticello
• Saint Pius X, Moab

Missions and Stations:
• Blanding Station
• Hanksville Station
• Holy Spirit, Duchesne
• Sacred Heart, LaSal
• San Rafael, Huntington
• Saint Kateri Tekawitha, Fr. Duchesne
• Saint Michael, Green River


Dean: Very Reverend Clarence J. Sandoval
            Saint Rose of Lima
            P.O. Box 557 
            Layton, UT 84041
           Phone: (801) 554-4269

• Holy Family, South Ogden
• Saint Henry, Brigham City
• Saint James the Just, Ogden
• Saint Joseph, Ogden
• Saint Mary, West Haven
• Saint Rose of Lima, Layton
• Saint Thomas Aquinas, Hyde Park

Newman Centers:
• Saint Jerome, Logan
• Weber State, Ogden

Missions and Stations:
• Santa Ana, Tremonton
• Saint Florence


Dean: Very Reverend John J. Schwall
            Our Lady of Lourdes
           1085 East 700 South
            Salt Lake City, UT 84102
            Phone: (801) 322-3330

• Cathedral of the Madeleine, Salt Lake City
• Our Lady of Guadalupe, Salt Lake City
• Our Lady of Lourdes, Magna
• Our Lady of Lourdes, Salt Lake City
• Sacred Heart, Salt Lake City
• Saint Ambrose, Salt Lake City
• Saint Ann, Salt Lake City
• Saint Catherine of Siena, Salt Lake City
• Saint Marguerite, Tooele
• Saint Mary of the Assumption, Park City
• Saint Olaf, Bountiful
• Saint Patrick, Salt Lake City
• Saint Vincent de Paul, Salt Lake City
• San Felipe, Wendover

Missions and Stations:
• Our Lady of Guadalupe Chapel, Dugway Proving Grounds
• Saint Lawrence, Heber City


Dean: Very Reverend David J. Bittmenn
             Saint George Parish
             P.O. Box 188
             Saint George, UT 84771
             Phone: (435) 673-7354

• Christ the King, Cedar City
• Saint Bridget, Milford
• Saint Christopher, Kanab
• Saint Elizabeth, Central Valley
• Saint George, Saint George

Missions and Stations:
• Duck Creek Station, Duck Creek
• Holy Family Mission, Fillmore
• Our Lady of the Light, Beaver
• Saint Anthony of the Desert, Torrey
• Saint Dominic, Bryce Canyon
• Saint Gertrude, Panguitch
• Saint John Bosco, Delta
• Saint Jude, Ephraim
• Saint Paul, Hurricane
• Saint Sylvester, Escalante
• San Juan Diego, Gunnison
• San Pablo, Beryl Junction
• Zion National Park Station


Dean: Very Reverend Gustavo A. Vidal
             Saint Francis of Assisi Catholic Church
             65 East 500 North
             Orem, UT 84057
             Phone: (801) 221-0750

• Blessed Sacrament, Sandy
• Immaculate Conception, Copperton
• Our Lady of Perpetual Help, Kearns
• Saint Andrew, Riverton
• Saint Francis of Assisi, Orem
• Saint Francis Xavier, Kearns
• Saint John the Baptist, Draper
• Saint Joseph the Worker, West Jordan
• Saint Martin de Porres, Taylorsville
• Saint Patrick, Eureka
• Saint Peter, American Fork
• Saint Therese of the Child Jesus, Midvale
• Saint Thomas More, Sandy
• Saints Peter and Paul, West Valley City
• San Andres, Payson

Missions and Stations:
• Our Lady of the Snows Station, Alta
• San Isidro Mission, Elberta